George Takei was so excited to do this shirtless episode. He spent all his free time doing push-ups for a week before they shot this.
they were going to give him a katana and have him be a samurai, but he didn’t want to be stereotypical, so he told the execs that he could fence and they wrote in references to the three musketeers instead
he could not, in fact, fence
he spent the weekend before shooting learning how
Not only that, but he found he liked fencing, kept it up, and became a master fencer.
When I had the privilege to hear him talk at AwesomeCon 2015, he informed us he is a master fencer. It was a very clear implication that he is still fencing at his advanced age. No wonder he’s so healthy.
He had far too much fun with this episode and it shows.
Hikaru Sulu, our first Space Pirate.
Reblogging for all this cool trivia
And also for George Takei running through the Starship Enterprise with a sword and cackling sinisterly
Reblogging for ALL of this, and for the coolness of George Takei still kicking butt with a sword to this day!
Reblog if you trust George Takei with a sword to protect you
“In the end, [Takei] loved his sword-fighting scene so much he held onto the rapier for several hours, poking stage hands with it and engaging in mock duels off the set.” – IMDB’s trivia
i’m getting messages like “i’m sorry about what happened in sweden last night” and i’m sitting here like “???? what happened????”
turns out trump had a speech where he talked about terrorism and said “You look at what’s happening last night in Sweden… Sweden!” but nothing actually happened here and our government is now trying to figure out what he was talking about ????? ? ? ????? ? ?????????????????
DONT ASK ME THIS, THIS IS HOW THE TROJAN WAR STARTED, I DONT WANT THIS MAN
Right away, Aphrodite popped into my head.
And then I’m just like, “DAMMIT, DID YOU LEARN NOTHING FROM PARIS? YOU ARE AN EMBARRASSMENT, AND NOW ALL THE TROJANS ARE DEAD. I HOPE YOU’RE HAPPY.”
If you are ever actually in this situation, pro-tip: name Persephone. Half the goddesses will be too surprised to smite you immediately and while Hades won’t do you any favors he may at least high-five you while your on your way down.
Another tip: name Mesperyian. Not only will you shock everyone, including her (since Aphrodite was a jealous ho who burnt half her face off), but you’ll win Hades’ favour. As his most beloved daughter, anything that praises her will make you a kind human to her, an okay human to him, and a genuinely good person to anyone else.
I heartily endorse this alternative answer.
I love how all of this advice leads to “please Hades at all costs.”
#because Hades really wasn’t that bad
No shit. The only real villain that caused so many problems was Zeus’ Thunder Cock and that thing has been in Olympus-knows-what.
ZUES’S THUNDER COCK
To be fair, Poseidon was like the greek mythology personification of the phrase ‘BITCH, FIGHT ME’