thebyrchentwigges:

Your creative fandom pursuits are not a waste of time.

I hand-coded a fansite in 2001. The results would make your teeth hurt today but I learned about HTML and CSS.

A piece of meta went semi-viral in 2003. That taught me about traffic and analytics and what the Internet likes. Consulting to improve web site traffic was a tidy side income for me last year.

I never made the leap from fanfiction to original fiction, or writing
for novelisations of Star Trek and Doctor Who – but I have fandom
friends who did.

I got my last job because of WordPress and Tumblr. I explained what tags were as part of an information architecture demonstration. Yes, I know. Still: hired!

I got my current job because of the online content skills gleaned over 15 years in fandom. “You’re a digital native.”

Creating art, stories, meta, videos, zines, shirts, RPing, managing a series of stories, tracking your traffic, responding to comments and debate, being part of a community – it’s all good.

Your creative fandom pursuits are not a waste of time.

penfairy:

The most unrealistic part of beauty and the beast is when belle is reading shakespeare to beast and she’s sitting down and reading it out in a soft sighing way and beast is like “ahhh so nice” everyone knows that a real lit nerd would read shakespeare by standing on a chair while screaming and crying, where is my scene where belle teaches beast how to read shakespeare but she’s yelling and beast is roaring and she’s like “GATHER STRENGTH FROM THE BUTTOCKS, CLENCH AND FEEL THE RHYTHMS IN YOUR H E A R T YOU HAVE TO SACRIFICE YOUR SOUL TO THE BARD” and beast fucking trashes the room and breaks a chair and she grabs his snarling face like “YES, YES YOU FEEL IT” and all the servants are watching in confusion while they’re screaming verses at each other saying “I guess it’s love??”

2000s yt anime watching aesthetic

f4rfields:

  • EPISODE 10 PART 1/3 *ENGLISH SUB*
  • 240p quality
  • the inevitable drop to 144p quality because you’re streaming video in 2006 What Did You Expect???? 
  • going on gaia while your video buffers in another window 
  • no tabs we kill the windows XP taskbar like men
  • OP with english translation at the bottom and romanisation at the top but you can’t read either because 80% the time because they picked some curly font in a color that blends into the rest of the video
  • subtitle font becomes absolutely unreadable at the inevitable quality drop no matter what color or font its in
  • translator’s notes with ^___^ or O_o;;
  • you were probably watching: naruto, death note,

    full metal alchemist,

    fruits basket,

    gurran lagann, ouran high school host club, inuyasha, or the melancholy of haruhi suzumiya

  • This video has been removed due to terms of use violation.

  • “just according to keikaku”
  • (translator’s note: keikaku means plan)

How LGBT in Russia are treated

brukhonenko:

brukhonenko:

authentic-russia:

In Russia, there are groups that purposely find “outed” LGBT people and groom them, make them think that they are more people who accept and love them.

They are not.

These people track down the person they have targeted and beat them.

They attack and brutally savage these people.

LGBT are often beaten to death during this. Some are shot execution-style.

Nobody stands up. Not even authority. The groups that do this get away with it. Barely ever are they charged.

These people commit MURDER and get away with it.

The POLICE are involved in these groups. People who are there to protect you and help you are threatening you with injury and death.

I unfortunately know of these fucking hateful and disgusting acts because my brother was murdered by one of these bastards.

Beaten to death and left in public, in a humiliating pose which makes me sick to this day.

I was five when I heard he died. Imagine that, you’re told your sibling is dead, and you’ll never see them again. At five.

Imagine your brother being the only support you had, because you also liked boys, and didnt understand it. And hes gone. You also have to worry about that happening to you.

Imagine thinking nobody in your country likes you, they want you to die.

Yeah, thats LGBT Russians.

Vladimir Putin, you horrible, bastard of a man. Get your country together and solve this bullshit.

hi im ivan from this blog and i wrote this a while ago and i think more people should know this actually happens. this is real.

i actually want this reblogged please let people know this happens. i meet people who have no idea of this, and it disgusts me how well its hidden please spread it